The Feds Release List of Regions Eligible for Livestock Tax Deferral

There are 21 regions in Alberta eligible for the livestock tax deferral provision for 2018.

The Federal Government released the initial list of regions in several provinces which have been hit with drought and excess moisture conditions.

This allows producers to defer a portion of this year's sale proceeds of breeding livestock until 2019 to help replenish their herd.

Read More:


Contributing to Animal Welfare Discussions

Alberta Farm Animal Care is looking for people in the livestock industry to come out to their focus groups.

The focus groups are a part of their Livestock Engagement Project, where they're working to submit a report to Alberta Agriculture outlining the work being done in animal welfare.

To find a focus group near you, visit Alberta Farm Animal Care's Website.


Increased Cattle Inspection Fee in Alberta

The cattle inspection fee producers pay when selling their livestock in Alberta will be raised 25 cents to $1.50 per head.

Livestock Identification Services Ltd. will begin charging the increased fee starting Thursday, November 1.


Harvest Update

About 28 per cent of crops have now been harvested in Alberta according to Alberta Ag and Forestry's latest crop report.

To view the full report, you can visit their website.


Send your news tips, story ideas and comments to