Rocky View County Council held its annual organizational meeting to select a Reeve and Deputy Reeve this week. Council voted for Division 3 Councillor Crystal Kissel to continue on as Reeve and Division 2 Councillor Don Kochan as Deputy Reeve. 

Don Kochan will be replacing Division 6 councillor Sunny Samra. Kissel was first elected as reeve back in 2017 and then re-elected in 2021. 

Reeve serves as head of council, and chairs council meetings. Under the County’s system, councillors select a Reeve and Deputy Reeve for a one-year term. Council also appointed councillors and public members to various boards and committees. 

Internal Boards and Committees are as follows:

Agriculture Service Board / ALUS Partnership Advisory Committee

  • Deputy Reeve Kochan, Councillor Boehlke, and Councillor Wright
  • Chair: Councillor Boehlke
  • Public Member at Large: Tricia Fehr

Assessment Review Board Public Members:

  • Chris Flannery, Taylor Kanik, Prab Gill, Colin Germaniuk, Jay Anderson, Fred Hay

Bragg Creek FireSmart Committee:

  • Public Members: none yet
  • Chair: Councillor Hanson

Family and Community Support Services Board:

  • Councillor Wright and Councillor Hanson
  • Chair: Councillor Wright

Governance Committee:

  • Chair: Deputy Reeve Kochan

Public Presentation Committee:

  • Chair: Councillor Wright

Recreation Governance Committee:

  • Chair: Councillor Samra

Subdivision & Development Appeal Board / Enforcement Appeal Committee:

  • Public Members: Chris Flannery, Dustin Bunny
  • Chair: Deputy Reeve Kochan

Emergency Management Committee:

  • Chair: Reeve Kissel, Vice-Chair: Deputy Reeve Kochan

External Boards and Committees

Calgary Metropolitan Region Board

  • Reeve Kissel, Alternate: Deputy Reeve Kochan

Central Rural Municipalities of Alberta

  • Councillor Boehlke, Alternate: Reeve Kissel

Calgary Airport Authority Board of Directors

  • Randolph Charro

Rocky View Foundation

  • Councillor Boehlke and Councillor Schule

Springbank Park for All Seasons

  • Deputy Reeve Kochan

Spray Lake Sawmills Recreation Park Society Board of Directors

  • Reeve Kissel

During the meeting, Council also established the 2024 Council and Committee Meeting calendar

In response to Canada's Online News Act and Meta (Facebook and Instagram) removing access to local news from their platforms, StrathmoreNow encourages you to get your news directly from your trusted source by bookmarking this page and downloading the StrathmoreNow app.

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to