As travellers head out for the long weekend there is everything from fire advisory to fire restrictions and fire bans across much of Southern Alberta. 

As of September 1, Wheatland County is under fire ban while the Town of Strathmore is listed as being under a fire advisory.

A fire advisory was issued for the Town of Strathmore due to prolonged dry, warm and windy conditions.

A fire advisory is issued to inform residents about conditions which pose a moderate to high fire risk in the community. All open air burning permits, and fire works permits are cancelled, and no new permits will be issued until the advisory is lifted.

Fire pits that conform with standards listed on the Town of Strathmore website will be allowed, provided a spark arrestor screen is in place, and a method of extinguishment is available. All BBQs that are approved by CSA, ULC, or UL shall remain allowed. 

As many head out to get in one last long weekend of camping in, the campfire is part of many weekend activities from cooking to roasting the perfect marshmallow s'mores. Unfortunately, many counties are in the same boat as Wheatland County.

As of September 1, the below counties have a fire ban in place:

  • Wheatland County 
  • Rockyview County 
  • Kneehill County 
  • Red Deer County 

Other counties are under a fire restriction, which includes fireworks, torches or lanterns with open flame. Although this is not a Fire Ban, the counties still ask residents to use extra caution and be extra vigilant when burning while the restriction is in effect.

Those counties include but are not limited to the below: 

  • Foothills County 
  • Vulcan County 
  • Lethbridge County

For a full list of what communities have an advisory, restrictions or full ban visit

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to