Shannon Dean has just been elected as the new mayor of Chestermere, along with five new councillors.

"It is exciting and humbling to see the results and the number of people who voted for me," said Dean. 

Dean, a former teacher and longtime community volunteer, earned 3,559 votes, 56 percent of the total and more than three times the number of votes any of his competitors gained. 

Marshall Chalmers walked away with 1,102 votes, Jeff Colvin with 1,072, and Chris Steeves with 627.

Dean takes the reigns of the city after more than two years of disorder, during which he served as a city councillor under former mayor Jeff Colvin, who was removed from office by the Alberta government last December.

"I need to follow a mandate to serve the people, and I will earn their trust by seeing a tangible difference in council."

The new high school site is at the top of Dean's mind at the moment. 

"The priority is to get that done by this fall so that the school board can put it on."

Joining Dean on the city's next council are Ritesh Narayan and five first-term councillors, Murray Grant, Kiran Randhawa, Janelle Sandboe, Robert Schindler, and Rob Wawrzynowski.

"I think the people who have been elected bring a really diverse skill set to the table, which is what we're going to need. Overall, we have seven people on this team who are passionate about Chestermere and passionate about moving it forward." 

The new councillors and mayor will serve for at least 15 months until the October 2025 municipal election.

Dean said he plans to run again in next year’s election.

For the past six months, the city has operated without a mayor and council as the city's official administrator Doug Lagore will be replaced by the new council at the swearing-in ceremony on July 3.

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to