The start of spring is just around the corner and with that comes needing to adjust clocks an hour ahead. 

Daylight savings time (DST) begins March 10 at 2 a.m., meaning Canadians will need to set their clocks forward, or "spring ahead," by one hour.

The official first day of spring is set to begin nine days before the clocks get switched on March 19. 

DST begins for much of Canada on the second Sunday of March each year.

DST is the practice of advancing clocks (typically by one hour) during warmer months so that darkness falls at a later clock time.

Some municipalities have decided whether to observe the change, and some have opted not to take part in the practice. 

Yukon, most of Saskatchewan, eastern Quebec, northwest Ontario, and some areas in the east, northeast, and southeast of British Columbia use standard time all year.

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to