The United Farmers of Alberta's (UFA) Rural Communities Foundation (RCF) is giving away $100,000 to rural communities for projects that improve their sustainability.

Rural Communities Foundation Board Chair Jennifer Wood said the grants are really making it easy for communities to reach their fundraising goals.

The Rural Communities Foundation was created in 2014 as a way to distribute archived equity funds back into rural communities where UFA has a presence. The foundation is giving $500,000 over five years to rural Alberta to improve the sustainability of farmers and ranchers by improving access to funding for educational, recreational, and cultural facilities and programs in the province.

In the first four years, the $400,000 has helped 16 communities complete their projects. 

“Five years ago, we made the commitment to give away $100,000 a year for five years and we have seen the positive impact of these grants. Our goal is to help keep rural Alberta communities sustainable."

Administrator of the Stettler District Agricultural Society Marj Savage said that when they goT their $27,900 grant, it allowed them to upgrade an outdoor washroom facility on the agriculture grounds.

"Fixing up bathrooms and showers isn’t glamorous, but it is key to attracting events to their agriculture facility. The grant money is what enabled us to keep going. Without grants we would not be able to accomplish anything. The upgraded outdoor washrooms means we can attract events to our facilities," Savage said. 

Groups who are eligible to apply include registered charities under the Canada Revenue Agency, registered non-profit organizations who are registered with either their provincial or municipal government and community service co-operatives. The project must be located within 200 kilometers of a UFA location and must be completed within two years.

Application forms are available on their website The application can be submitted until August 31, 2023. Winners will be announced in October. For more information on how to apply for the RCF grant, you can email 

Winners in 2019:

  • Paradise Valley
  • Delia
  • Onoway

Winners in 2020:

  • Irvine
  • Pincher Creek
  • Vegreville
  • Castor

Winners in 2021:

  • Drayton Valley
  • Canmore
  • Carmangay
  • Eaglesham
  • Nampa

Winners in 2022:

  • Foremost
  • Dunmore
  • Stettler
  • Grimshaw


Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to