If you are thinking of heading out for the May long weekend this weekend here's everything you need to know about fire advisories, fire restrictions, and fire bans across much of Southern Alberta.

As of May 2, The Town of Strathmore and Wheatland County are listed as being under a fire advisory.

A fire advisory is issued to inform residents about conditions that pose a moderate to high fire risk in the community. All open-air burning permits and fireworks permits are cancelled, and no new permits will be issued until the advisory is lifted.

Fire pits that conform with standards listed on the Town of Strathmore website will be allowed, provided a spark arrestor screen is in place, and a method of extinguishment is available. All BBQs that are approved by CSA, ULC, or UL shall remain allowed. 

As of May 1, the below counties have a fire ban in place: 

  • Kneehill County
  • Red Deere County

Rockyview County got a fire ban as of May 11.

Other counties are under a fire restriction, which includes fireworks, torches, or lanterns with open flame. Although this is not a Fire Ban, the counties still ask residents to use extra caution and be extra vigilant when burning while the restriction is in effect.

Those counties include but are not limited to the below:

  • Foothills County 
  • Vulcan County 
  • Lethbridge County

For a full list of what communities have an advisory, restrictions, or full ban visit albertafirebans.ca. 

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to news@strathmorenow.com